Piano Lessons for Adults

In the spectrum of students I have taught, my adult students have been some of my favorites! Adult students are typically interested in a variety of genres, and bring their own unique perspective to their lessons.

A Showcase of My Adult Students

 Over the years, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and working with many adult learners. Here are a few examples of students I’ve had.

Nicholas

Nicholas was a retired teacher who had a fondness for music from the 40s through 60s. Some of his favorites pieces included Frank Sinatra hits, Broadway tunes, and other classic songs from this period. He also enjoyed playing Classical pieces.

Angela

Angela’s favorite style of music was soft romantic music. This included contemporary and Classical pieces. In the first recital she attended, she performed “The Swan” by Saint-Saens. In her second recital, she performed a beautiful arrangement of the Christmas piece “Coventry Carol.”

Darshan 

Darshan just began lessons with me this spring. He has enjoyed learning American folk tunes in the past few months, and hopes to learn pieces from Indian movie soundtracks in the future.

Curriculum for Adults

Because my adult students usually have a specific idea of what they’d like to get out of their lessons, my curriculum for them is flexible, and is based on their interests. Here is a general idea of some of the concepts I can include in piano lessons for adults. Each lesson follows this general format:

-One or more songs from a trusted method book, such as Alfred or Bastien

-Exercises to increase dexterity and speed, such as Hanon or Czerny exercises

-Piano scale and chord progression, appropriate to student’s skill level

-A supplemental song that the student requests (pop, rock, etc.)

-1-2 pages of theory work, if needed

-Sight reading

If you would like more information, feel free to contact me at stephaniemartinpianist@yahoo.com or 813-370-9529.

Leave a comment